Rachel Pupazzoni

10 years

3 Comments

As of Sunday July 10, 2016, I’ve been working for the ABC for 10 years.  It’s hard to believe it.  (Gallery of proof below!)

1 – Am I really old enough to work somewhere for a decade?  School days don’t seem that long ago.

2 – If you asked me as a 14 year old, when I decided this was what I wanted to do, I doubt even my younger self would believe you if you said I’d be doing it. Let alone for so many years.

3 – Sometimes it feels like I’ve only been doing this a few years.  There’s still so much I want to do.

4 – Other times, it feels like I’ve been doing this job far longer than 10 years.

A brief history

I started with ABC News and Current Affairs in Geraldton in Western Australia.  It was tough going for the first few months.  I was the only journalist there for the ABC, so I was very much left to my own devices.  Eventually I got the hang of it and really enjoyed my 12 months there.  I made some great friends with the ‘competition’ from GWN and the local papers.  It was great to have my own ‘patch’ to cover.  I had the Mid West and the Wheatbelt regions. I filed stories on the farming, cray fishing and mining industries as well as the usual news.  I met some great people and visited some really nice towns.

I went to Bunbury, in WA after that.  There I had another journo to work with, so my workload was halved immediately.  It was great because it gave me more opportunities to work on longer form reporting.  We covered the South West which included farming, mining, wine and tourism.  I remember having  a great time filing for TV current affairs program Stateline about the Manjimup truffle industry and the dairy industry. They were both so much fun to shoot.  I also filed for the first time for radio current affairs programs AM and PM.  I was invited to a ceremony to rebury aboriginal remains. It was such a rare opportunity and made great radio.

After a year and a half I moved to Perth.  I became one of two main newsreaders for ABC radio news in WA.  That was lots of fun.  I will never forget the morning my sub editor accidentally deleted all the audio carts from my 745am bulletin.  I was one story in and had lost all my audio.  It’s a 15 minute bulletin.  It was stressful, but all I could do was keep reading.  It actually turned into an opportunity, as I’ve used it in job interviews as examples of dealing with stressful situations!  I also worked as a multi platform reporter in Perth.

After a few years, I was itching to try something new.  So I moved to Sydney and the team at ABC News 24.  Initially as a bulletin producer, but luckily it didn’t take long before I was reporting for ABC News Breakfast and presenting TV news bulletins.  And there it was, the 14 year old me’s dream to be a TV news presenter for the ABC, coming true.

Now what?

 

Author: rachelpupazzoni

I'm a journalist living in Sydney.

3 thoughts on “10 years

  1. Rachel you yet look very beautiful and young.
    congratulations and I wish you the very best for the future.

  2. Great Rachel! Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

