Rachel Pupazzoni

On Top of Australia

5 Comments

I’ve been as high as anyone can go in this country.  Last weekend I climbed Mount Kosciuszko. That’s 2228 metres above sea level.  I don’t know how many other people can say that – and I’m a little bit proud.

My journey started with an early morning bus ride (late by twelve minutes – hello Sydney buses!) to Circular Quay… then a little bit (read ‘a lot’) of frantic running… carrying two bags and dragging a suitcase behind me… from wharf to wharf… trying to figure out which one the express ferry to Manly left from.  Turns out it was the one I went to first.  Whoops!

Once on the ferry I spent the next twenty minutes trying to convince myself I wasn’t going to be seasick.  I think the ginger tea I had for breakfast helped because… despite some pretty big waves… I made it to the other side with my insides intact.  There I met my travel companions – my Aunt Margaret (AM) and Uncle Barry (UB) and we hit the road in their brand new car.  We took a wide sweep around Sydney to avoid the traffic which my country relatives (and I guess anyone who doesn’t live here) weren’t used to.  We ended up in Thredbo about 6pm. (It was a 10 hour round trip for me).

What an amazing part of this beautiful country Thredbo and its surrounds are.  So different to the endless, flat earth you see in WA.  (Which, by the way, I think is beautiful… in case you were wondering).

Our accommodation was second to none.  During the peak season you can hire our two bedroom, two bathroom apartment for a cool $2000 a night.  Off-peak, a much more digestible $250.

Saturday morning we ate a big breakfast to fuel up for our hike up the mountain.  But the news was not good when we met our guide.  The weather was not on our side… too bad in fact to go see the top of Kosi.  Winds up to 80km/hour were forecast with gusts fast enough to push me over apparently.  So we pushed it back a day and explored the region.

The view of Thredbo from our apartment... that cloud cover should have been a clear giveaway we wouldn't be climbing today.

The view of Thredbo from our apartment… that cloud cover should have been a clear giveaway we wouldn’t be climbing today.

The beautiful landscape near Thredbo.

The beautiful landscape near Thredbo.

DSC09364

The banks of the beautiful Snowy River.

Sunday was take two and the weather was much better.  When they say you climb to Australia’s highest peak there is a little bit of help.  The Thredbo chair lift takes you up a fair way… a nice way to ease into the hike that’s for sure.  But it doesn’t stay that way.

DSC09365

Looking good there Thredbo!

DSC09389

The travelling party.

DSC09381

Dark sky, mountain, rocks, waterfall… breathtaking.

Yours truly... mid march.

Yours truly… mid march.

Uncle Barry (AB)

Uncle Barry (UB)

Aunt Margaret (AM)

Aunt Margaret (AM)

Jason was our tour guide and spent the next 6 hours pointing out different flora and fauna and teaching us a little about the area.  I was pleasantly surprised to see toilets about half way up the mountain… what kind of hiking is that?!

Jason giving AM and UB the low down.

Jason giving AM and UB the low down.

Toilets on a mountain.  Unbelievable.

Toilets on a mountain. Unbelievable.

DSC09438

Check out those clouds.

DSC09431

Mountain lake. Amazing.

The path is laid out for you… more so to protect the fragile enirvonment than to help out hikers.  We crossed snow twice… that was pretty fun…. Also very slippery in my sneakers!  But no-one fell off, so that was a good thing.

DSC09394

Our first snow crossing.

DSC09446

The second snow crossing was a little harder.

The walk is a mixture of uphill climbs, easy plateaus and a few downward slopes.  Fittingly, the last kilometre or so to get to the peak is the toughest… an uneven path (at least there is a path!), ferocious winds which I did struggle to stay upright in and freezing temperatures.  But that’s all quickly forgotten upon reaching the summit.  Now I know what Edmund Hillary felt like when he became the first man to conquer Mt Everest (a bit of a stretch maybe?).  It was awesome to be up there.  The landscape is so beautiful.  Mesmerising.  Inspiring.  Amazing.  I have to admit, when Jason handed us all our certificates to say we’d climbed Australia’s highest peak I was quite proud of myself.  Actually I was more proud of AM and UB who reached the top too.  (Let’s just say I’m at least half their ages!).

DSC09451

View from the top.

DSC09454

You can’t get any higher than this.

DSC09457

It really was this windy.

DSC09477

View from the top.

DSC09467

A little proud.

DSC09478

Enjoying the moment.

The walk down wasn’t a breeze either.  Remember how I said the climb is a mixture of climbs, plateaus and downward slopes?  Well those downward slopes become uphill slopes on the way back.  At least this time we had the wind helping us along instead of marching head on into it.

DSC09491

Seriously beautiful.

DSC09505

On the way down.

Beer never tasted so sweet and delicious and refreshing as it does once you’ve reached the summit of Australia and you’re overlooking Thredbo.  UB shouted me and Jason a beer and AM went for the classier Veuve Clicquot as we overlooked the township and talked about the 13 kilometre climb we’d just accomplished.

Celebratory beer.

Celebratory beer.

Standing on tip toes I can just reach the top of Mt Kosciuszko.

Standing on tip toes I can just reach the top of Mt Kosciuszko.

If you ever get the opportunity I thoroughly recommend you reach the top of Australia.  You’ll never forget it.

Thanks for reading.  I’ll post more adventures soon!

Rachel

Author: rachelpupazzoni

I'm a journalist living in Sydney.

5 thoughts on “On Top of Australia

  1. Wow how amazing, Good on you. XMum

  2. Rachel

    Did you climb this in December or was that just when you did the Blog? Snow in December would be cool though.

    On my bucket list i have all the Highest Peaks in each State to Climb. Have only done a few of the lesser ones in Vic so far.

    I did Mt Buller with my daughter the other month, walked from the Clock Tower in the Village to the Fire Tower at the Summit had lunch and walked back. Great views also.

    Mt Kosi looks amazing definitely a summer walk though.

    thanks for the insight

    • Hi Paul, I guess it was around then. I don’t really remember. I recall we had to delay it by a day though because of poor weather. It was well worth the trek though. I’ve not trekked in Victoria, but would love to. Rachel

      • Snow in December would have been great, did you have a snow ball fight just because?
        You need to get the ABC to fund a story so you can do the Kakoda Track?

      • Snow would have been great, did you have a snow ball fight just because you could?

        You need the ABC to fund a story for you to walk the Kokoda Track

Leave a Reply

